COVID Notice | Can I Practice TeleHealth in NC without a License?Read More
The Board Office is working remotely. All applications, renewals and related materials should be submitted via the secure portal for applicants and licensees available on this website. Paper forms are no longer accepted or processed. Please review the information on this website, including FAQs for answers to questions about licensing and renewal of a NC MFT license.
Emergency Practice Permits for MFTs licensed in other states who were granted authorization to practice MFT in NC via the Governor’s Executive Orders expired July 1, 2021. For more information on telehealth across state lines, read the post referenced below.
Marriage and Family Therapy Licensees who wish to form a Professional Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company must apply to the North Carolina Marriage and Family Therapy and Licensure Board for a Certificate of Registration (COR), pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes.
Apply Online via the Applicant Portal
Review Incorporation General Information, FAQs
Submit other documents and information as may be required or requested
For applicants who were licensed by the Board and their license has expired - maximum expiration period of two years. In other words, licenses that have expired more than two years cannot be reinstated. Continuing Education hours documentation and a fee of $200 is required to reinstate an expired license. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for information on how to reinstate an expired license.
Applicants who were previously licensed as an LMFT in NC, who are not eligible for reinstatement consideration (license expired more than two years) will be required to complete a new application for licensure. This method requires the applicant, as a previous Board licensee, to request a new license with a new license number, but without documenting further supervised work experience.
For those who were licensed by the NC MFT Licensure Board and had requested their license be placed on inactive status because they were no longer practicing. Continuing Education hours documentation and a fee of $200 is required to reactivate an inactive license. Contact email@example.com for information on how to reactivate an inactive license.